See more Animal Facts

Quail New World

California Quail

The New World Quail is from the family Odontophoridae. These quail are divided into 9 genera and 32 species. This image is a California Quail. Many quail have a crest or plume, sometimes called a topknot, on their heads.
Found only in Mexico are the Bearded Tree Quail, Long-tailed Tree Quail, Elegant Quail, and Banded Quail. Wood Quails, Ocellated Quails, Tawny-faced Quail, and Singing Quails are native to Central and/or South America.

Mountain Quail, California Quail, Gambel's Quail, Bobwhite Quail are ground dwelling birds. If startled, ground quail explode into short fast flight. They prefer to run from threats. Montezuma Quail are sedentary and prefer to remain motionless in the presence of humans rather than running as other quail do.

Quail feed on seeds, leaves, berries and insects. Most American quails have a 23 day incubation period for their eggs. Many quail have very recognizable calls.

Fun Quail Facts

- California Quail live in coveys and enjoy community dust baths.

- Mountain Quail and Gambel's Quail are monogamous.

- Many quail chicks are precocial, which means relatively mature and mobile from the moment of hatching, so can leave the nest with their parents.

- The Scaled Quail, also called Blue Quail or Cottontop, has a feather pattern that looks like scales.

- The Bobwhite Quail is the official game bird Tennessee, Georgia, and Washington State.

- The Gorgeted Wood Quail is on the verge of extinction.


Avian Web

Desert USA



Click here to go back to Animal Facts and Information.

100% Secure Online Checkout
Free Shipping

Special Offers
in your Email
The Jungle Store does not spam and will never sell or rent your information!